Husky Help & Hope (H3) Walk – May 18

A message from a fellow public health student!

Hello classmates!
My name is Juliana and I’m a fellow public health major. I wanted to let you all know about an event coming up this weekend – the Husky Help & Hope (H3) Walk for suicide prevention and awareness.

To give some context, I am one of the co-founders of the RSO "Huskies for Suicide Prevention & Awareness" (HSPA), and this spring awareness walk is our biggest event of the year. This year, we are partnered with Forefront (intheforefront.org), a new non-profit organization operated out of our very own School of Social Work. This is really exciting because it means all the money we raise this year stays on campus to impact our students and greater campus community. Students also have the opportunity to sit in on the stakeholder meetings to help decide what we do with this money — let me know if you are interested in becoming more involved in this aspect.

The walk itself is on Sunday, May 18th, at 11am in Red Square. Fundraising is encouraged because the money will make such a huge impact on campus, and our goal is $10,000. But registration is 100% free and I encourage you to come walk and open up the conversation about suicide and mental health, regardless of whether or not you can donate to the cause. We have a team-based registration system, or you can sign up as an individual walker. Registration and donation can be done at this website: bit.ly/h3walk.

Alternatively, offline, you can make a paper check out to "UW Foundation" with "Forefront" in the memo line, and to sign up to walk you can give me your name and email address, and I will have just a couple of questions for you to answer.

Thank you so much for your time, and please feel free to reach out to me directly at jborges. This cause is a personal one for me, having lost a close friend to suicide my senior year of high school, but my hope is that mental health and suicide prevention become causes for people to support without having to go through the heartbreak of suicide loss or a personal struggle.

To learn more about HSPA, visit hspauw.com. I appreciate your reading through this email; I think this cause is especially relevant for all of us, as suicide is increasingly viewed as a public health issue. I hope to see some of you on May 18!

